

STATEMENT OF THE G-77 AND CHINA DURING THE SPECIAL SESSION OF THE PREPARATORY COMMISSION FOR THE COMPREHENSIVE NUCLEAR-TEST-BAN TREATY ORGANIZATION ON 1 MARCH 2010, DELIVERED BY H.E. AMBASSADOR TAOUS FEROUKHI, PERMANENT REPRESENTATIVE OF ALGERIA

Mr Chairman,

I have the honour to speak on behalf of the G-77 and China States Signatories on Agenda items 2 and 3 of this Special session of the CTBTO PrepCom.

In this regard, the G-77 and China would like to express its deep appreciation to Ambassador Michael Potts, Permanent Representative of Australia, outgoing Chairman of the PrepCom 2009, and to pay tribute for the successful outcomes of the PrepCom under the Australian leadership.

I seize this opportunity to warmly congratulate the Ambassador Selma Ashipala-Musavyi, Permanent Representative of Namibia, as the incumbent Chairperson of the PrepCom for 2010 and assure her of the Group's support and cooperation, wishing her all success. The Group sincerely contratulates Ambassador Xolisa Mfundiso Mabhongo, Permanent Representative of South Africa as Vice-Chairman of the PrepCom. The Group looks forward to working with them.

Let me also sincerely thank the Ambassador of Nigeria, Abdulkader Bin Rimdap, the outgoing Chairman of WGA, for his efficient and successful stewardship of this Policy Making Organ during his tenure.

In this context, I wish to warmly congratulate Ambassador Antonio José Vallim Guerreiro, Permanent Representative of Brazil for his election as the new Chairman of WGA, and to assure him of the Group's support and cooperation, wishing him all success. The Group looks forward to working with him.

I thank you, Mr Chairman.