

STATEMENT OF THE G-77 AND CHINA DURING THE SPECIAL SESSION OF THE PREPARATORY COMMISSION FOR THE COMPREHENSIVE NUCLEAR-TEST-BAN TREATY ORGANIZATION ON 12 FEBRUARY 2008, DELIVERED BY H.E. AMBASSADOR MR. ANTONIO JOSÉ VALLIM GUERREIRO, PERMANENT REPRESENTATIVE OF BRAZIL

Chairperson,

Agenda Item 8

On behalf of the Group of 77 and China, I would like to congratulate Ambassador Hans Lundborg of Sweden for his election as Chairperson of the Preparatory Commission and Ambassador Abdulkadir Bin Rimdap of Nigeria for his reappoint as Chairperson of Working Group A for a further mandate of two years. The Group is all but certain that the diplomatic skills and competence of Ambassadors Lundborg and Rimdap will enable them to fully discharge of their important duties and responsibilities, and we assure both Chairpersons and other members of the Bureau of our unwavering cooperation in this regard.

The Group also expresses our gratitude and sincere appreciation to the outgoing Chairperson of the Preparatory Commission, Ambassador Ana Teresa Dengo of Costa Rica, and welcomes the newly-appointed members of the Advisory Group and the Management Board of the Provident Fund. Thank you Chairperson.