

## G-77 and China statement during the Resumed Fifty-Fourth Session of the Preparatory Commission 9 – 10 September 2020 delivered by H. E. Ambassador Maria Cleofe Natividad Permanent Representative of the Philippines

Madam Chair,

1. The Group of 77 and China would like to thank Ambassador Faouzia Mebarki for chairing the resumed Fifty-Fourth Session of the Preparatory Commission to review the applications for the restoration of voting rights and would like to take this opportunity to renew to the Chair of the PrepCom the assurances of its full support and cooperation for the work of the PrepCom.

2. At this occasion, the Group would like to reiterate that taking into account the ends of term of the Executive Secretary, the Chairperson of the Working Group B and members of the Advisory Group, the G-77 and China would like to assure the Chair of its readiness to support efforts in the Preparatory Commission to reach conclusion of these matters.

3. The Group expresses thanks to the Chair of the PrepCom for her extensive consultations on all the aforementioned items and looks forward to her report of progress on all of them respectively.

4. The Group takes note that the Application of Paragraph 5b of the Annex to the Resolution Establishing the Preparatory Commission regarding the restoration of voting rights to States Signatories in arrears has been initiated. The Group wishes to thank Mr. Pedro Peñha Brasil, from the Permanent Mission of Brazil for facilitating the negotiation process. The Group requests the PrepCom to use the agreement reached as a basis to specifically consider applications received in an equitable manner.

5. The Group also takes note of Note Verbal no. LEGPMOS/305/0/note65/BZ08/20 dated 31<sup>st</sup> August 2020 from the PTS which circulated applications from State Signatories for restoration of voting rights, the majority of whom are members of the Group. The Group would like to reiterate its support to the Chair in working on this issue during the 54<sup>th</sup> Resumed Session of the Commission. The Group further reiterates its statement as delivered during the PrepCom on 25 June 2020.

I, thank you, Madam Chair.